Blogging frustration

My blogging buds often give me a hard time – they say I don’t blog often enough. I cannot disagree but I’ve been trying to figure out why.

Part of it has to do with time, but I fear that is a universal truth and one which is not unique to my situation. Recently though, I’ve come to feel that the greater reason has to do with how I think. I envy the likes of Will Richardson, Wes Fryer, Stephen Downes and company because they write either with a flow and passion that I admire, with a sense of the narrative through the use of digital storytelling to which I aspire or with a concise analytical approach that I wish I could emulate. And they make it seem so effortless to boot. By comparison, I often feel like my posts are too simplistic and as a result drag my feet on posting to my blog until I have wrought a piece which rises to my level of acceptability. If I seek to become a better blogger, then I need to understand how I think and in knowing develop a strategy which will ensure my own personal success.

I’ve come to believe that two factors are in play: 1) my unrealistic expectations and 2) the fact that my thought process is rather staccato in nature. My thoughts come to me rapid-fire, often seem unrelated and then branch out geometrically. I find myself struggling to retain some control and recollection over how they developed and how I arrived at my conclusion. I often find myself unable to sit still and speaking so quickly that folks are continually asking me to slow down. My conversation also reflects my leaps in logical progression and I often lose not only myself but the others who have come along on my conversational journey. This is particularly true for those things that I am passionate about. As you might well imagine, coupled with my tendency to “go with my gut,” this behavioral thought pattern leads to quite a bit of frustration!

Where others cogitate, I perceive. In one of my graduate courses, Theories of Learning & Cognitive Development, there was a rather heated discussion between the professor and the members of the class when someone used the term “feel” when they were tallking about something they believed. The professor held that it was impossible for one to “feel” a thought and did not allow the term to be used in our discussions. While technically that may be true, I find that I rely heavily upon my intuition to guide my actions and as a result often use the term “feel” instead of “believe” to reflect my intuitive thought processes. So heavy a reliance upon my intuitive and perceptive nature may contribute to this A.D.D. of the mind. Upon reflection, I ought to find some exercises which will force me to use different cognitive processes to develop my thoughts.

I still do not entirely understand myself but then again, like this post, I am a work in progress! To my blogging audience, I thank you for your patience and I will strive to post more in the upcoming year (with New Year’s coming up, this might make a great resolution – again). And to my own inner critic –
Shut up and let me think in peace!”

For those with advice on overcoming my blogging writer’s block, your comments are most welcome!
[tags][/tags]

powered by performancing firefox

2 thoughts on “Blogging frustration

  1. It’s your blog, you should blog as often or as infrequently as you like, and not worry about what other people say. It’s not like there is a shortage of material on the web.

    That said, a couple pieces of advice for overcoming writer’s block.

    First, you fear your posts are too simplistic. Here’s an insight: everyone feels that way. I have my own self-doubts, Will Richardson struggles with his. It is necessary to take an attitude something like, “It’s good enough because it’s me.” The fact is, your thoughts are no more or less simple than anyone else’s. What varies is the steadfastness in communicating them.

    First, it’s OK to simply feel. Your writing doesn’t have to have a point. You don;t need to reach some vital conclusion. It’s OK to simply describe, to say what you perceived. Because ‘reason’, properly so-called, typically doesn’t take place in the cogitation, it takes place in the perception. To recognize something as something is to reason. Record your thoughts. The depth and complexity will follow.

Leave a Reply

